Automobile collisions can occur for various reasons. When they do, California drivers often have little choice but to file insurance claims to cover the costs of repairs or medical bills. Every licenced motorist in a state must carry liability insurance in an amount at least equal to the minimum required by that state. Nonetheless, the percentage of uninsured and underinsured motorists in California is among the highest in the country.
After suffering catastrophic injuries in a car accident in California, you or a loved one may be concerned about the financial impact of the incident and unsure of your next steps in seeking compensation. Your chances to protect your rights and getting the most out of your case improve significantly if you have competent legal representation. Regarding car accident claims, Easton & Easton is the law firm to turn to in southern California, and we want you to know how to proceed if you don’t have insurance.
Accidents Caused by Drivers With Insufficient or No Insurance
If you cause an accident and someone is hurt, the state law mandates that you carry bodily injury liability insurance for $15,000. For all injured parties, their policy must include bodily injury liability coverage of at least $30,000. Property damage liability coverage on the vehicle insurance policy must be at least $5,000. Once you’ve determined who was at fault for your accident, you should immediately gather information about the at-fault party’s insurance coverage.
It may appear like these restrictions are more than adequate to cover the costs associated with a careless driver’s actions in California. It’s a sad fact that some drivers have trouble navigating the murky waters of vehicle insurance claims. In contrast, others can’t even pursue legal action against the negligent motorists who caused their accidents.
Underinsured/uninsured motorist coverage is not mandated by any state’s laws, although drivers are highly advised to consider adding it to their auto insurance policies. When an accident is caused by a driver who does not have sufficient insurance, the insured party can claim their own policy for financial compensation. They are usually allowed to do so without any repercussions. If the other driver is not insured, and you haven’t paid extra for “underinsured/uninsured motorist” coverage, you’ll have to file a personal injury lawsuit.